Skip to content

A View of the End of Summer

September 28, 2011

Summer has waned, but oh, what a delicious one it was!  For me, the CSA produce has been a well-spring of inspiration in creating memorable meals.  Most of the vegetables were seamlessly incorporated into my cooking. I am delighted to have become more of a seasonal cook.  Some of our favorites included a Roasted Veg with Eggplant, Leeks, Parsley, and Crispy Basil, Roasted New Potatoes with Rosemary, a spin on “Zuppa Toscana” with a Sausage, Potato, and Kale in a skillet moistened with cream, salads, made with the sparkling fresh mesclun, topped with grated carrot and the sweetest grated beets, finished with raw shredded cheese. There was the Alice Waters recipe for Chard Frittata, rainbow chard, anyone? Green onions went into everything, salads, to burritos, to stir-fries.  And most recently, with the stems of fragrant lemongrass I made a Lemongrass Shrimp recipe from the Food Network, adapted, of course, to what I have in my fridge. The array of hot peppers added a new level to my typical cooking; I found de-seeding the hottest ones made them just the right burst of heat to especially bean and meat dishes. And the tomatoes! I ate most of them, sliced and sprinkled with salt, they were that perfect.   Along with the culinary stimulation, the garden in virtually my backyard has repeatedly been good for my soul.  To be able to look out and see the wealth of  green and the bits of color from the flowers and vegetables brings me so much hope in this downcast neighborhood.  The season may be shifting but I do look forward to what it brings, greens galore, perhaps? New friends, maybe?  This is Wilson Street Urban Farm through my eyes.

Best,

Anna Harris

CSA Member

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment leave one →
  1. matthew lloyd permalink
    December 24, 2011 7:08 pm

    I would like to visit your farm and learn more about what you are doing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

