Skip to content

Cup of Tea Anyone??

December 6, 2012

Ahhh.  It’s over.  One of the most difficult summers I can remember.  Remind me to not be involved in farming when there will be no rain… (alright, so I’d do it anyway)

Anyway, that is all behind me and I’m looking forward to a nice relaxing winter.  Our growing season was concluded by our third annual Harvest Celebration/Pig Roast/ Cider Pressing.  This year was a little tight on apples, but we were still able to procure enough to satisfy those who came and participated.  We have learned some lessons from previous years’ pig roasts and therefore made this one the most successful.  The gracious folks from Singer Farms (also the source of our apples) allowed us to use their tent for the event enabling us to eat and mingle protected from the rain, one of our most dependable guests.  We had some live music, plenty of food, hot, mulled cider, fresh home-made doughnuts, delicious fire-roasted pork that was so well done and juicy it literally fell off the bones.  We were also blessed to have our eldest son home for the weekend.

We managed to finally plant our garlic a couple weeks later than I had hoped to, but it should be fine.  The rains came and soaked the ground, Willie tilled in some nice compost, and the gang of us planted around 36 pounds of German stiffneck garlic.  I have garlic to sell if anyone is interested.  It goes for $6.50 / pound.

Our final big farm project was moving the hoop house.  After three seasons of being in the same place, covering up the same ground, it was time to move it.  The plastic was sad and needed to be replaced, and the earth was crying out for some real rain and snow and good plant rotation.  After a week of preparation, we had a group of people come out one Saturday and move all the ribs that support the plastic as well as the front and back walls.  The skeleton is sitting over vegetables I planted in the fall in anticipation of when the plastic comes in and they can all be covered for the winter.

Now it’s time to take a deep breath, make a cup of hot tea,  find a good book, and rest for couple weeks until it’s time to think about ordering seeds and planting again.  By then, I will be all ready for a new season.  In the meantime, I can eat my carrots, kale and mustard greens, dig out parsnips from the bed in the yard, eat my own potatoes and canned green beans and tomatoes, frozen peas and okra all seasoned with my own home-grown herbs, garlic and hot pepper sauce.

Here’s to good food!

Janice

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    December 11, 2012 9:17 am

    Janice, Sounds like a wonderful time! How do I keep missing this!! I would love to buy your garlic , let me know via email; Lezann8@hotmail.com, when I can stop by.
    Leslie Porto

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

