Skip to content

Figs?

March 18, 2013

I have had a burning desire to grow figs for many years.  I have wonderful, mouth-watering memories of my great-grandmother’s fig preserves smeared on toast.  My great-grandmother lived in Mississippi, however and it wasn’t quite as challenging for her to have her figs and eat them too, as it is for me.   None-the-less, I am determined that this is the year of the fig for me.  Does anyone out there grow figs in western NY or know anyone who does?  I would love to pick the brain of someone with real experience coddling them through a NY winter.   I’m not that well versed in varieties, either.  I have no idea what kind my southern relatives grew, so any advice on that subject would welcome as well.

You may be wondering what has been happening on the farm, since the fall when I updated it last.  (Believe it or not, the above pictures were not taken on our farm over the winter)  Well, we ordered seeds, planted some in the hoop house and started some onions, basil, celery, and cabbage, organized information about the current CSA shares and sent out notices  to those on the priority lists, washed skunk out of my dog, worked out with a daughter and a neighbor using Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, coughed, dealt with coughing children and husband, tried to bring down some fevers, and attempted to come up with ideas on dealing naturally with this wretched illness, rejoiced as someone began to feel better, moaned as the illness resurrected itself yet one more time, coughed some more (oh, wait, are you tired of hearing of the endless cycle of sickness in our  house this winter?).

We have also been brain storming about irrigation, talking about the ArtFarms project and the potential there, picking up compost from Lexington Co-op, trying to keep up with home schooling – challenging when everyone is sick, and trimming currant bushes.  I’ve also been trying to compose a flier announcing a contest for a  sign design which will be posted on this site as soon as it is completed which needs to be very soon!  That sentence is really confusing, but what it means is that I need to write up the flier!  Immediately!

What hasn’t been happening that should be (besides the above-mentioned flier)?  Well, no one has been taking any pictures of the farm, so I had to steal some pictures of other people’s beautiful fig plants.  I have not yet trimmed the apples and pear trees.   I haven’t ordered more currants or the fig trees yet.  I am slightly behind in my planting schedule, nor has the hoop house been watered this week.  And nobody has licked this illness yet, so we’re all still fighting coughs and fevers and general lethargy!

So that sort of brings you up-to-date on where we stand at the farm.  And that is where I must leave you, because it is time to get started on supper.   Please let me know what experience you have had growing figs.  I need to order my trees soon!

Here’s to Health!

Janice

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 11:09 pm

    I have the same burning desire but I haven’t had much luck with my fig trees yet.

  2. Scott permalink
    March 19, 2013 12:54 pm

    Our Italian neighbors in Penfield grew them. They planted them right next to the house, and when winter came they bent the tops right to the ground and buried the whole plant with leaves to keep them from freezing in the winter. That worked for them, but you’re probably asking more about soil treatment, light, temperature and watering. Can’t help you there, but I hope you succeed!

    • wilsonstreeturbanfarm permalink*
      March 20, 2013 8:27 am

      Thanks, Scott. I’m looking for any information, especially about how people get them through the winter. How large were their trees?

  3. March 22, 2013 11:00 am

    I live in Ontario, Canada (climate zone 3) and I have a Hardy Chicago fig tree in a pot. It’s so cold here that I haven’t tried planting it outside and burying it over the winter, but it does set figs. It stays in the back porch over the winter where it’s about 40 – 50 degrees, and goes out to the back yard once the freezing weather ends.
    Got to watch out for the squirrels, though. They apparently like figs too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

