Skip to content

Onion Lessons

September 4, 2009
odisaghi 269

Onions drying in the yard.

Yesterday, I decided to harvest the onions.  They looked  pretty ready – most of the stems fallen over and not much growth anymore.  I pulled them up and brought them into the yard.  I had wanted to braid them and hang them up to dry in the garage – something I have never done before. Back on the farm in Pavilion I had always left them in the ground until they were all dried up and then stored them in mesh bags in the pantry.  Here, they have a tendancy to disappear out on Wilson, so I wanted them to cure in the yard.

I found a shadey comfy spot in the yard and began to experiment with braiding the onions.  I got some nice braids!  When I finished the job, which took awhile,  I decided I should double check to find out how to cure braids and if there are temperature requirements, etc, so I came inside and looked up on the internet about braiding onions. The big thing I learned is that you only braid already dried and cured onions! I also learned that if you are unsure, read the directions before beginning the project.

So…. I went back outside and took out all the nice braids I had just put in and laid the onions in the yard to dry.  Next, I will bring them out of the weather and let them cure for a week or two.  THEN I will try my hand at braiding them:)  Live and learn!

I did get a decent amount of onions.  Next year I will plant heaps more.

Janice

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Arbo permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:46 am

    As far as that old slogan,”charity begins at home” goes,those poachers must be thinking that charity begins at YOUR home!

  2. phlojd permalink
    September 11, 2009 10:57 am

    Just wondering. How much of a problem have you had with theft and destruction of your crops?

    • wilsonstreeturbanfarm permalink
      September 11, 2009 4:22 pm

      We really haven’t had that much trouble. No visible outright destruction – perhaps a green tomato or two tossed around, but nothing to worry about. People have taken green tomatoes, onions, peppers, lettuce and chinese cabbage to some extent. I began harvesting tomatoes before they turned red and letting them ripen in the yard, so I have had plenty for our use – and I use alot of tomatoes. I brought the onions in to cure. I have so much lettuce and chinese cabbage that it was no problem to lose some. Peppers were the hardest hit for a couple reasons: 1. they’re easy – right next to the sidewalk and a quick pick; 2. I didn’t have very many of them, so I noticed the loss.

      Next year, things will be rearranged and we will hopefully be more available. People had a hard time finding us unless we were outside, and they didn’t necessarily know what the garden was about. It will also be bigger, so the losses won’t be felt as much.

      I don’t mind a little pilfering – if I lived in the country it would be deer, rabbits, and rats; if I had a store it would be the occasional shoplifter. I would like to get the point where the garden pays for at least some of it’s expenses, however:)

      Thanks for the question and the interest.

      Janice

  3. Chris Arbo permalink
    September 21, 2009 11:26 am

    Our tomato crop was a blighted disaster this year. We pulled them completely out along with the top of the soil and put them out for trash pickup several weeks ago.

    In many previous years though, just before a frost, I would bring in all the many remaining tomatoes in whatever stage of ripening they might be, wrap the big ones up in newspaper and put them in a container in the chilly, sunless front hall–we do not have a basement. Over a few weeks, they gradually ripened to deep red and we gradually gobbled them up!

    I also sliced up the green tomatoes and stir fried them in butter with green peppers and onions and sometimes store bought carrots, frozen peas and small-sliced potatoes. Yummm

    I refer to my concoction as “fried green tomatoes” but, in the movie Fried Green Tomatoes that is actually some sort of patty to fry up–very popular in the south, but, I have no idea what, besides green tomatoes, is in those pattys…

    • Vivian King permalink
      October 10, 2009 9:57 pm

      We love to make fried green tomatoes using the largest green tomatoes on the vines, slicing them, dipping them in an egg beaten with a bit of water and then into a mixture of flour, cornmeal, salt and pepper. Fry them in a bit of oil until browned on both sides and thoroughly enjoy them! They are one of the best things about summer gardens!

      • Chris(tine) Arbo permalink
        October 11, 2009 1:56 pm

        Vivian. Thank you for that recipe.

      • wilsonstreeturbanfarm permalink
        October 11, 2009 6:32 pm

        I just made fried green tomatoes a couple days ago. They were yummy!

  4. Christine Arbo permalink
    October 11, 2009 8:15 pm

    I’ve been growing tomatoes in our yard for more than 30 years with a bumper crop EVERY year, but not this blighted year! Scary!

    • Vivian King permalink
      October 12, 2009 7:35 pm

      Our plum tomatoes deteriorated in size until they were more the size of cherry tomatoes! They started out quite large. I agree; bad year.

Trackbacks

  1. Down on the Farm: Onion Lessons | Broadway Fillmore Alive

Leave a Reply

