Skip to content

Hibernation, farm style

December 31, 2009

The weather has finally turned wintery and I have no desire to go outside.  I take the dog out and empty the household compost into our bin and that’s about it.  The hoophouse is great for exercising the dog – out of the wind, warmer than the cold outside, and enclosed so an energetic puppy can run to her heart’s content.  We are still waiting to hear the results of the soil testing, so nothing can be planted in the ground in the hoophouse yet.  It has quite a few bales of hay from the composting workshop in it still and so the children are building tunnels and climbing piles and generally putting them to good use.  When we left the farm, I thought we had left hay stacks behind.  What fun!!  We had a great turn-out for the composting cookout and the pile we made is cooking away.  I can see it steaming in the cold weather.  Thanks to all who braved that cold morning and to Mike and Dave who worked hard to make it a success.

I have been forced to look beyond my back yard garden for vegetables, finally.  Spastic puppies have done a number on my kale that was looking so nice.  I have not been able to quite bring myself to buy lettuce yet.  Instead, I mixed up some worm castings my worms made over the summer with some peat-based potting soil and planted mesclun mix, spinach and radishes in some flats I have in the basement.  I’m not sure what the spinach and radishes will do – I’ve never attempted to grow them indoors, but the greens mix should be ready to eat in a couple weeks if all goes the way they say on the packet. 

The lids to my cold frames froze shut when we had the last cold blast come through, so I wonder what is happening with the lettuce, spinach and onions I planted in the early fall.  In other years, I’ve been able to eat the lettuce out of them at this time of year.  At least I know the puppy hasn’t destroyed them!  In the next thaw, I will check on them and maybe have some fresh greens to eat.

It’s hard to believe that the year is over and 2010 is upon us.  It has been quite an eventful year for us.  We had never envisioned all the publicity our family and our hopes and desires would garner.  Anyone who knew us before we moved would just have to laugh at where we are now.  Thank you to so many who have helped us with suggestions, calls and letters to the powers that be, holding our hands though the political process, coming out to help with the work, donating time, money, equipment, and generally encouraging us.  I am looking forward to next year.  I believe it will be a better one as far as the farm goes.  Soon it will be time to order seeds for next season.  The hope of the farmer.

May the coming year bring us peace, true justice and mercy for all – God’s will on earth as it is in heaven.  May His kingdom come.

Janice

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris and Bob Arbo permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:20 pm

    How many NE “city mice” would even dream of growing AND EATING their very own lettuce in December? We had no idea it could even be done!

    As for the rest of what you say, you are teaching us a few things we can do with our own garden, but in the spring, not now. Everything is blanketed in snow–our garden is hibernating–and that is just fine until the soil is sun warm again.

    Well, all that was good reading, but then I scrolled down and found your cheery, happy scene of a sort of enjoyment no city kids would imagine having. And I can again smell that wonderful hoophouse hay. What a nice surprise it is to come here today!!!

Leave a Reply

