Skip to content

Milwaukee, here I come!

September 27, 2011

I have been privileged to be invited to the Land Trust Alliance Rally in Milwaukee, WI in October.  I’ll be going with Megan from the Western New York Land Conservancy, an organization that works to protect forever the farmland and natural environments that we would be lost and starving without( http://www.wnylc.org/about.html ) .  This year the Land Trust Alliance is focusing a bit more on urban agriculture and green spaces which explains why I was asked to go along.  I’m really excited about getting to visit Will Allen’s Growing Power ( http://www.growingpower.org/ ) as well as other community gardens in Milwaukee on Thursday.   Friday, I’ll spend a day visiting and learning about the Indian Community School of Milwaukee, a city that is home to eleven federally recognized tribes of American Indians.  Those are my two organized field trips.  I’ll have Saturday and Sunday for workshops and anything else I want to do in Milwaukee. My children will need to teach me how to use the camera, so I can take lots of pictures.  When I return I hope to post some pictures and have some encouraging news to report.  Does anyone who’s been there have any suggestions for restaurants or neat places within walking distance of the Frontier Airlines Center?

On September 17th we were one of the stops on the Tour de Farms which was a roughly 30 mile bike tour benefiting Massachusetts Avenue Project ( http://www.mass-ave.org/ ) and Green Options Buffalo (  http://greenoptionsbuffalo.org/  ) . The Tour visited some local farms, both urban and rural, and ended up at Oles Farm in Alden for their Harvest Celebration.  There were over 100 participants this year which made for a pretty crowded street here.  Mark and I rode out to the Oles’ place and back home on the tandem to join the group for their Harvest Celebration, about 40 miles altogether.  It was an enjoyable evening, but we were pretty whupped by the time we got home.  Here is a picture of the group at our place.

Until next time,

Janice 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

