Skip to content

Spring has Arrived! (I’m sure of it)

April 3, 2015

Wow!  Yesterday’s temperatures were amazing.  And the sun shone!  We transported more plants into the hoop house and seeded our second bed of carrots.  The mustard, arugula, and radishes are up in the hoop house.  Wednesday, we harvested some parsnips and had a fresh salad with kale, spinach, lettuce, and onions.  This is life!

arugula seedlings

arugula seedlings

little lettuces

little lettuces

baby spinach

baby spinach

 

This spring’s early season inspection taught me an important lesson.  Rabbits like fruit tree bark.  There is no surprise here, but I have never, in all my years growing fruit, experienced the damage.  I guess the winter was hard enough and the rabbit population dense enough to incite the cute bunnies to victimize my saplings.  Their favorite was the quince tree.  I have rabbit teeth marks on my quince saplings from the ground level up about 2 1/2 to 3 feet high where they were able to stand on their cute fuzzy hind legs and nibble the ends of the tiny branches off.

rabbit damage on quince trunk

rabbit damage on quince trunk

I should have listened last fall to that nagging voice in the back of my head that suggested I might want to protect the trees from rodents over the winter …. but I just never got around to it.  Thankfully, I don’t think the trees were actually killed, so I might still have a chance to protect them from next winter’s hungry, marauding rodents.  It’s not hard, nor is it expensive.  It just needs to be done.

So…..

Now it is spring and there is quite a bit of work to be done on the farm preparing beds for planting and just general clean-up from a long, snow-covered winter.  Come help us on our first volunteer day of the season – Saturday, April 11 – from 9:00 until 12:00.  Let’s enjoy spring outside on the farm! Remember – the farm is located on Wilson Street, one block west of Fillmore Ave, between Sycamore and Broadway.  Wilson St. is a one-way street, so you must approach the farm from Broadway.  For those of you who want to GPS it, enter 360 Wilson Street.

See you Saturday!

Janice

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

