Skip to content

The Great Garlic Harvest

July 22, 2010

  Every year, now, for the past 9 or 10 years, the second week in July has meant harvesting the garlic.  We plant the garlic in late October where it quietly and unobtrusively grows through the coldest part of the year.  Because it is mulched in the winter, it requires very little from me during its growing season – the mulch seriously reduces weeds and the need for irrigation.  But I watch . . .

  My garlic is my baby and I watch every stage of its progress.  From the time it first peeks through the straw mulch in the late winter, to the monitoring of its health through the spring and summer, to the counting of the leaves dying indicating when it should be gathered,  I watch . . .

  Tuesday was the day to bring it all in and hang it up to cure for a couple weeks.  My daughter photographed the process:

Grateful for garlic,

Janice

Leave a comment